foodie mcfooderson

a home cook with notions & an appetite

key lime pie popsicles

And now for a bit of randomness…as in what to do with that large bag of limes you got from Sam’s Club when you were only going to use one or two but had no time to stop at another grocery store on top of going to Sam’s Club so you buy the more reasonable amount of only two limes.

(I know, it probably confuses me as much as it does you.)  Thanks to yumsugar, I find a fabulous recipe for key lime popsicles.  Shock of shocks, I also happen to have a set of popsicle molds.  It’s destiny.

I’m not even going to pretend that these are super-nutritious.  Sure, I could talk up the calcium and all, but once you see the ingredients, you’ll just call me out on my delusional behavior:

  • 1 14-ounce can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 3/4 cup fresh lime juice
  • 5 tsp finely grated lime zest (from about 3-4 large limes)
  • Pinch of salt
  • coarsely crushed graham crackers (when serving)

Stay with me.  All things in moderation.  Remember, you’re not required to eat all of your popsicles in one sitting.  Just enjoy them one at a time.  And not also have a Snickers that day.  With that out of the way, you can see the path of lime destruction I managed with my wood reamer to get to the 3/4 cup of lime juice.  What you’re not seeing are the limes I zested as well.

The rest of this came together so fast it was ridiculous.  If I hadn’t had to take the time to open the can of sweetened condensed milk, I would have easily cut this time by a third.  Basically, I mixed the remaining ingredients together (first with a spatula to get the cream and condensed milk acquainted, then with a whisk) and then I filled ten popsicle molds.  After a quick overnight freeze, I’d just crush half a graham cracker or so to dip a popsicle in before eating it (you run these plastic molds under a bit of warm water to release the popsicle, so you have just a tiny bit of melting action around the outside which makes a perfect crumb catcher).

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 10, 2011 by in randoms and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other subscribers