foodie mcfooderson

a home cook with notions & an appetite

cooking light’s open-faced bacon, lettuce, and fried green tomato sandwiches

This time, a recipe involving some of my CSA basket this week.  And a bonus purchase from the farmer’s market.  It’s also another Cooking Light recipe despite the “fried” in the title.

Our CSA haul this week (I don’t do these reports too regularly, so consider them fun bonuses!) from Wayward Seed:

  • Tokyo Long Scallions (split with S&P)
  • Tasty Jade Cucumber (to S&P – we got them last week)
  • Champion Collard Greens (ours – and a recipe post will follow)
  • Swiss Chard (to S&P…see, this is how we negotiate the basket)
  • Kolibri Kohlrabi (split with S&P – I think…I know we have some…)
  • Tropicana Lettuce (to us – and it’s in this recipe!)
  • 2 pints blackberries (split – and I know ours are long-gone)
  • 2 pounds blueberries (split – again, ours are long-gone)
  • Cinnamon basil (split with S&P)

The green tomato came from the folks at the market that have had the great tomatoes for a while.  The ones with the big white tent.  (I’ll suppose that I could edit this later as if I knew their name the whole time.)

Cooking Light’s recipe set up for six sandwiches.  I cut the recipe in half, as I didn’t think leftovers would refrigerate well.

After slicing my tomato into six thick slices (did you know that a corgi will eat the leftover tops and bottoms?  true fact), I take the recipe advice and I soak the tomatoes in water for 10 minutes.  This means I’ll have a crisper tomato in the end.  (SPOILER: It worked!)  In the meantime, this is the rest of my ingredient list:

  • 2 tablespoons fat-free milk
  • 4 large egg whites, lightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups yellow cornmeal
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 5 tablespoons light mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon hot sauce
  • 6 (1 1/2-ounce) slices white bread, toasted
  • 6 Bibb lettuce leaves
  • 9 bacon slices, cooked and cut in half
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh chives

My main substitutions: Obviously I used the Tropicana lettuce instead of the Bibb.  I didn’t have chives, so I skipped them.  I also found myself a fresh lemon short at the end, so I ended up rinsing and finely chopping some preserved lemon I had on hand.

In the meantime, there was bacon to be cooked.  This is from a batch of ancho bacon I made a month ago (I’ve frozen it in small batches).  Just enough to get it crisp but not burnt.

The real meat of the sandwich came next.  After soaking the tomatoes in water, I had to press as much water out of them as possible.  Then the double breading.  Milk and egg whites in one bowl with the cornmeal, salt and pepper in another.  Double-breading is exactly what it sounds like.  After dipping in liquid and then dry once, you immediately dip in liquid and dry again.  I’m happy to report that this actually worked as promised.

Okay, I did need to add a little bit more cornmeal (with seasoning) at the end because I had a gigantic tomato, but otherwise it worked as promised.

I pan-fried (this is where even more calories are saved) these in a tablespoon of olive oil in two separate batches.  I could make it sound like flipping them at the four-minute mark was somehow stressful and a major task, but even in the photo you should be able to see breading that’s successfully sticking to tomatoes after a very easy flip.

Sandwich assembly takes place after mixing hot sauce and finely diced preserved lemon in light mayonnaise.  I feel a bit like I’ve made a step-by-step assembly guide for a casual dining restaurant employee, so feel free to read in the order of your choice:

Open faced did require a knife and fork, but this was a nice filling lunch on a Sunday afternoon.  According to Cooking Light, it’s all of 386 calories.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 15, 2011 by in csa, farmer's market and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

