foodie mcfooderson

a home cook with notions & an appetite

ad hoc bacon vinaigrette

There’s an entire section of ad hoc at home devoted to dressings and whatnots.  They’re sort of starter recipes that may or may not have accompaniments.   After making a batch of applewood smoked bacon (you remember that I make my own bacon, right?), it seemed only natural that I would make the bacon vinaigrette.  Ultimately, it became a warm bacon spinach salad.

These ingredients will become the vinaigrette:

  • 8 oz. applewood smoked slab bacon
  • 1/2 cup champagne vinegar
  • 2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp whole grain mustard
  • 1 cup canola oil
  • kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper

When I make my bacon, I don’t usually pre-slice all of my bacon – these are my version of lardon strips – so I can do the things I’m about to do now:

I chop the bacon into nearly 1” cubes and fry these puppies up like the lovely meat cubes they are. In the end, I have fried bacon cubes and bacon fat. Sweet, sweet bacon fat. It will be the final ingredient for the vinaigrette.

I pour the ingredients (not bacon cubes!) into the super-machine (we are one of the crazy people that own a VitaMix – and I know we sound like we’re in a cult when we get started talking about it, so apologies if you speak to us in person about it, but we really do love it), and in 30 seconds – a base for vinaigrette.

Perfectly emulsified base meets meaty bacon and is tossed with slightly wilted spinach, some sliced dried figs, chopped roasted almonds and sliced shallots. That is the awesome dinner salad that is the first picture for this entry.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 9, 2011 by in ad hoc and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

