foodie mcfooderson

a home cook with notions & an appetite

blueberry cream cheese squares

When we signed up for the CSA with Wayward Seed, we were most excited about the fruit portion of our share.  Of course, this does eventually fore you (force you, I say!) to find things to make with your fruit like cream cheese squares.

I found this recipe on a Hub Page through some random search terms I couldn’t recall now if my life depended on it…I tried to recreate it and I failed.  Either way, it was simple, utilized my CSA blueberries and a random cream cheese I’ve had for a while (oh, mega mart, you and your crazy 10 for $10 sales!).

First things first, we start at the bottom with the crust ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 2 Tbs sugar
  • 2 Tbs melted butter
  • 1 Tbs agave (the article lists several kinds of sweetners, so I’m listing what I used)

This part is easy – mix ingredients and press into the pan and pre-bake the crust for 10 minutes in a 350 degree oven:

Now it’s time for actual work and this is mostly because I don’t want to dirty the mixer.  That’s right, I am going to do the filling by hand with a whisk.  These are the ingredients:

  • 8 oz cream cheese, room temperature
  • 2/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 egg
  • juice and zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries

Basically, beginning with the cream cheese, it’s all about whisking until slightly smooth and then adding the next ingredient, whisking until smooth and then folding in the blueberries at the end:

I actually had to add the powdered sugar in two batches so that it was easier to incorporate.  Otherwise, like so many bakers pre-gadget before me, I did manage to survive and make a filling without an electric mixer.

I promise that I was filling a 9x 13 pan, but my spatula looks like some sort of tool for a small giant in this picture.  The whole point of this is that the filling is nice and loose, but to get a nice distribution of blueberries, I’m using the spatula to move them around.  Into a toasty 325 degree oven this goes for 30 minutes until it looks nice and golden on top.

I think mine did pretty well (and I love a cracked blueberry):

Lovely snacks with a hint of a cheesecake taste (none of the sour cream punch, though) and the great play of lemon.  Plus the great and soft blueberries which make this a fruit serving.  True fact.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 11, 2011 by in csa and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

