foodie mcfooderson

a home cook with notions & an appetite

bon appétit’s yukon gold cinnamon rolls

Potato breads and I have not typically gotten along.  Until Bon Appétit ran their recipe for Yukon Gold Cinnamon Rolls in their March 2009 issue.  Seeing as how husband loves anything with cinnamon and sugar and obsesses over Yukon Gold potatoes, these had to be made.

The ingredients:

dough

  • 1 pound Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled, cut into 2-inch pieces
  • 1 tablespoon coarse kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 3 large eggs
  • 4 1/2 cups (or more) unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup warm water (105°F to 115°F)
  • 3 1/4-ounce envelopes active dry yeast
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
filling
  • 1 1/3 cups golden brown sugar
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
  • 3 tablespoons unbleached all purpose flour
  • 9 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature

glaze

  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons (or more) whole milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/8 teaspoon coarse kosher salt

First things first – the potatoes:

I boiled the potatoes in 2 cups of water with a tablespoon of salt until tender (this took about 20 minutes).  I then mashed the potatoes directly in the pan with the remaining water (it was loose).  To the loose-ish potatoes, I added a stick of butter and continued to mash.  The instructions say to add the 3 eggs to the potatoes at this point, but they’re really hot.  Instead, I add about 1/2 a cup of the potatoes to the eggs first to temper the egg mixture before dumping it back into the potatoes. Then I whisk the bejebus (technical term) out of the potatoes and egg mixture.  Since I love whisking, I add a cup of flour to the potatoes and whisk some more.  Right now, I have salty potato butter on my hands.  It will get better.  It was time for the potatoes to sit and cool.
While the potatoes cool, I pour the yeast into the mixer bowl with warm water and sugar.  Check how much fizz 3 packets of yeast produces in 10 minutes:
Onto making potatoes into flour – this is not going to turn into the most solid dough ever.  In fact, it will be sticky, but thankfully, the mixer will do the bulk of my work. The first part involves mixing my yeast and cooled potatoes together. The second part is mixing in 3 cups of flour until I get a sticky dough:
The rest of my mixing is done by hand – there aren’t a lot of photos because this was sticky. Let’s just say that it was a lot of patient folding and adding of flour to get a dough that held together fairly well. Once I was done, I loaded it into a bowl to let it rise for half an hour (recipe says an hour, but this was quick-rise yeast and I was very glad I checked when I did). You might notice that it went a little bonkers (again, technical term) in the photo:
While waiting on the rise, I made the filling. Brown sugar, flour and butter. the recipe suggested using a fork but I like using my pastry cutter for any job involving cutting in sticks of butter:
It’s now time for construction!  My dough is still a bit sticky, so I flour the heck out of the counter and have faith that it will be enough. In rolling out the dough, I’m getting bubbles throughout the dough – it’s still trying to rise! I power through and manage to get my square-ish dough. All that’s left is to spread the filling and cut the dough into 12 pieces. This isn’t as easy as it sounds and the instructions to “flour the knife” are silly (smooth knife dipped into flour will not come out with flour still on the blade). I make do. I let the rolls rise for a bit before baking, hoping that they won’t completely take over the pan:
Husband is up at this point (convenient, no?). He does make the icing while the rolls bake in a 425° for 20 minutes, so he does get an assist credit. The rolls bake up huge (“Cinnabon Size!” husband said more than once) and halfway through their ten minute cooling, I ice then so that the icing can melt a bit over the rolls:
As to the reaction? Well, husband has had THREE of these the day I made them. I kept myself to one that day, but it was fantastic! Fluffy and moist and no hint of mashed potato at all. These were involved, but I was able to do them on a Sunday morning and they’re worth making again.
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 21, 2011 by in bread and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

