foodie mcfooderson

a home cook with notions & an appetite

cooking light’s chili-garlic salmon

We have been trying to eat more seafood in the McFooderson home.  I know that all the articles giving advice on trying to do exactly this point out that canned tuna and canned salmon can absolutely make the cut in terms of the “twice a week” recommendations…but who really wants that twice a week?  I really look forward to the salmon sales when the season hits every year.  Fillets and steaks (and even the whole fish, if you’re wanting to break it down like that) fall to reasonable per pound prices and you can even make your own croquettes from fresh and not feel like you’ve spent an insane sum of money to do so.

I tweaked this recipe a bit from Cooking Light to take advantage of the leek crop in my garden:

I buy leeks (and shallots, for that matter) already started from Strader’s Garden Center during their spring sales and end up with an easy crop at the near end of the season.  Not to shabby considering what the mega-marts want for the leeks and shallots.

That aside, here were the ingredients I used:

  • 3 tablespoons chili garlic sauce (the Huy Fong brand with the Rooster on the label and the green top)
  • 1 medium leek, halved and chopped (white and light green part only)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons low-sugar orange marmalade
  • 3/4 teaspoon low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2 salmon as a single fillet (about 1.5 lbs)
  • Cooking spray

As you can see from the photo, I mixed the chili sauce, leek, marmalade and soy sauce into a glaze.  I should mention that the low-sugar orange marmalade I found wasn’t “low-sugar” so much as it was Dickenson’s Purely Fruit Orange Spreadable Fruit.  I don’t know what was up with my mega-mart’s selection of Smucker’s Low-Sugars, but the Sweet Orange was nowhere to be found.  Apricot, sure…orange not so much.

Back to my salmon.  This is about as easy as it gets.  The lining of the baking sheet with foil is all me.  Low-sugar or not, the sauce has natural sugar that will stick to a baking sheet that I really don’t feel like scrubbing.  Same goes for salmon skin.  Sure, I spray the pan with nonstick cooking spray, but salmon skin and fruit spreads laugh at nonstick sprays.  I put the fillet skin-side down and give it a once-over for super-obvious pin bones and then brush half the chili glaze over the fillet.  It then goes under the broiler for five minutes.  Once my first five minutes is up, I put the rest of the chili glaze over the fillet and broil for two more minutes.  It all looks like this (see the crisping glaze drippings for my justification on foil):

This method got me nice medium salmon fillets and a sauce with a spicy tang that is not overpowering or anywhere near the hot-just-to-be-hot territory.  And according to the Cooking Light folks, all for under 300 calories.  Complete bonus.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2011 by in garden and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

