foodie mcfooderson

a home cook with notions & an appetite

ad hoc grilled asparagus with prosciutto, fried bread, poached egg, and aged balsamic vinegar

The photo will not do this justice.  (And my ragged poached eggs don’t really help.)  But I promise what I’m about to say isn’t just bragging.

This grilled asparagus is ART.

Seriously.  You could have hung this in a museum, it was so beautiful.  If you want to impress a date, spouse, relatives or friends, make this dish.  They will ooh and ah when you put this plate down.  If they don’t, they’re dead inside.

So remember when I said there was a spoiler before?  You know, we were talking about torn croutons?  Those were the ingredients for this dish:

  • 2 Tbs white wine vinegar
  • 6 large eggs
  • 2 bunches asparagus (these were the thinnest I could find)
  • canola oil
  • kosher salt
  • 3 oz thinly sliced prosciutto
  • 2 cups torn croutons
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • aged balsamic vinegar
  • fleur de sel

Since you know I was making torn croutons, we can skip that part.

I had to poach eggs first thing. This was my poaching station with the ice bath where the eggs waited until serving time. The water is loaded up with the white vinegar and it swirls as I add the egg for 1 1/2 minutes. I will admit my eggs weren’t pretty, but 5 of the 6 survived my foray into poaching.

As an aside, I did get my first issue of Lucky Peach this week and I admit that I am really intrigued by Juan Mari Arzak’s method that involves tying the eggs in plastic wrap and making them look like flowers at the end – it’s hard to explain.  the folks over at kitchentangents did them – pictures make it easier to see what I mean.  What I’m getting to is that I’d prefer to try Arzak eggs with this recipe in the future.

I didn’t get much action on the cooking of the asparagus because it involved a bit of canola oil and the grill and was super-fast. You can see where I did prep the asparagus by snapping the ends off.  Yeah, I’m not even pretending that it’s all that exciting.

After the grilling, the plating starts. Asparagus, poached eggs, prosciutto are artfully arranged and are covered with salt and pepper while torn croutons gild the whole thing. Then olive oil and balsamic are drizzled over with a touch of fleur de sel. Not only is it a work of art, it is DELICIOUS.

3 comments on “ad hoc grilled asparagus with prosciutto, fried bread, poached egg, and aged balsamic vinegar

  1. kitchentangents
    September 6, 2011

    Wow, thanks so much for the linkage! I see you are also working on Charcuterie. My husband just got that cookbook and has been reading (aka drooling) over it ever since. Can’t wait to try the bacon! Did you hear about Charcutepalooza? http://www.mrswheelbarrow.com/charcutepalooza/the-ruhls-2/

    • foodie mcfooderson
      September 7, 2011

      I have followed their challenges – but I got sort of obsessed with making headcheese this summer and the whole tongue pastrami thing…so I would have been off the path all year. 😉 The bacon will change your life, I promise. It’s so easy you’ll wonder why you never did it before.

  2. Pingback: ad hoc cream of cauliflower soup with red beet chips « foodie mcfooderson

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2011 by in ad hoc and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

