foodie mcfooderson

a home cook with notions & an appetite

the gilded fork’s tipsy pork chops with bourbon-laced peach chutney

Wayward Seed has been doubly generous as the season’s gone on with the fruit portion of our share.  So with even more peaches around, I went searching for something a bit savory to make with them this time around.  The local megamart also had a sale on pork loins, so I knew that it would be pork and peaches.  When the Gilded Fork folks offered up a recipe that included pork, peaches and bourbon, I didn’t have to be asked twice.

So while I’ve seasoned my chops (I cut these an inch and a half thick) with salt, pepper and paprika, let’s get to the ingredients:

  • 4 center cut pork chops
  • Salt pepper, to taste
  • ½ teaspoon paprika

For the chutney:

  • 4 ripe peaches
  • 1 medium onion, finely minced
  • ¼ cup raisins
  • 1½ cups scallions, chopped
  • ½ cup orange or pineapple juice
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
  • 1 dash nutmeg
  • 4 tablespoons bourbon whiskey

The chutney isn’t a chutney-chutney per se.  It’s more of a lose sauce with thick chutney-like items in it.  This isn’t because there’s something wrong with the recipe, but because the chutney is baked with the chops and will dry out in the oven while keeping the meat moist.   The prep, as with just about any chutney, is a bit of chopping for me.  After boiling and quickly peeling the peaches:

Oh, I didn’t mention that I’d squeezed fresh orange juice for this?  I did.  I only cooked the chutney (all the ingredients except the bourbon) at this point for ten minutes on the stovepot (5 without and 5 with three of the chopped peaches – the fourth is sliced for later) since my 400 degree preheated oven was waiting to do the bulk of the work.

After topping the chops with chutney (and bourbon!), I baked them for half an hour and then flipped them over.  Lovely browned chops were revealed and were promptly topped with sliced peaches I’d saved from earlier along with a dash of nutmeg.    20 minutes later (and a rest out of the oven), and I had a fantastic dinner.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2011 by in csa and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

