foodie mcfooderson

a home cook with notions & an appetite

walnut pesto pasta with cherry tomatoes

This is one of my many versions of “Rescue Pasta.”  Basically, any pasta filled with vegetables that were bought with good intentions but are now on the verge of getting tossed are eligible for inclusion in “Rescue Pasta.”  The most popular version of Rescue Pasta includes one with a base of caramelized onions, cherry tomatoes and spinach.

In today’s challenge, I had a bag of basil and a carton of heirloom cherry tomatoes from the Farmer’s Market.  Good things were more than possible from these two things.

My ingredients are pretty simple:

  • 2 cups basil
  • 1 cup walnuts
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 oz Parmesan cheese
  • 1 pint heirloom cherry tomatoes
  • 8 oz spaghetti

I’m using the VitaMix to make my pesto (basil – garlic on the ingredients list) – and while it may look like I was dumping the entire lemon in there, that was a moment where I was being more of a Butterfingers McGee than a Foodie McFooderson kind of gal.  I was just squeezing all the lemon juice in before wizzing it about.

I should mention that I’ve had the water boiling for the pasta.  I’m a few seconds from throwing the pasta in the water.  In the meantime, I mix the shredded Parmesan into my pesto mixture.  In my opinion, it gives my pesto a bit more chewiness and keeps it from being just a wad of mush.  I like texture when I eat.

While the pasta is cooking, I start the tomatoes.  Tiny amount of oil, salt and pepper and medium heat will allow these to heat through and soften.  Just stir them every so often to avoid burnt spots.  Once the pasta is done, I throw it in the pan along with the pesto and toss for an easy dinner:

I promise this is a hearty dinner that makes leftovers if there are only two of you.  Plus, you have the added bonus of rescuing veggies destined for the trash bin.  Did I mention the delicious part?

One comment on “walnut pesto pasta with cherry tomatoes

  1. trueindigo
    September 13, 2011

    It’s the perfect time of year for a recipe like this. My basil and tomatoes have both done well and I just love a different idea of how to use them up. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 13, 2011 by in farmer's market and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

