foodie mcfooderson

a home cook with notions & an appetite

jambalaya with shrimp and sausage (a take on a cooking light recipe)

This is not an authentic jambalaya – it doesn’t even start with the trinity!  But it is a very tasty rift and one-pot meal for a weeknight.  Now that you know that I know that I’m not doing authentic New Orleans cooking, let’s also know that I adjusted a recipe I’d originally gotten from Cooking Light to handle ingredients I had both from our csa basket and some very tasty sausage from Thurn’s.  Here were the ingredients that I used:

    • 1 tablespoon olive oil
    • 1 cup chopped onion
    • 1 cup chopped shishito peppers
    • 2 tablespoon minced garlic
    • 6 ounces garlic sausage, sliced
    • 1 cup uncooked long-grain white rice
    • 1 teaspoon paprika
    • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
    • Creole spice mix, to taste
    • 1 bay leaf
    • 2 cups fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
    • 1 cup water
    • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
    • 1/2 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
    • 2 large tomatoes, chopped
    • 1/2 pound peeled and deveined medium shrimp

The shishito peppers aren’t spicy, but a pepper we’ve really been snacking on all summer.  They have a sort of vague pimiento/sweet pepper crisp thing going on.  We get them green and they turn red pretty quickly, but that’s why I used these instead of red bell pepper.  We go to Thurn’s and they do make an excellent Andouille sausage, but they sell out regularly.  This smoked garlic sausage was perfect.  Once the peppers, onions and sausage were all chopped and sliced, everything was sauteed for 5 minutes with the olive oil over medium-high heat.  Just enough time to get some more prep done.

The original recipe called for canned tomatoes with liquid, so I used very ripe tomatoes, kept all the liquid I could when chopping and upped the water by 1/4 cup to compensate.  There’s nothing scientific to any of this, but it worked.  There you go.  Once I added the tomatoes to the pot, I added the rice and seasonings (everything except the shrimp), being sure to go a bit spicy with the creole seasoning because that’s what I like.  Once the broth and water were added, I brought the liquid to a boil (this really happened fast), lowered the temp to low and covered the pot for 20 minutes.  As you might have noticed, the rice had soaked up nearly all the liquid in this time.

It’s the home stretch.  All that was left for me was to take the peeled and deveined shrimp (this is why I like a seafood counter that does this ahead of time) and add it to the pot.  Once I covered it, I let it sit on the heat for 5 minutes than stand with the heat off for 5 minutes (I have a gas stove, so I didn’t have to worry about leftover heat on the burner).  This method means I have tender shrimp, not the horrid overdone shrimp that are either rubbery or, if you’ve gone way off the rails, mealy.

A quick stir and I had the beautiful one-pot lightened up jambalaya pictured above.  It’s lightened mostly because there’s no additional ham, chicken and the oil is cut way back from what one would usually expect.  In a 4-serving original recipe, Cooking Light had this around 425 calories.  And it’s tasty, to boot.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 9, 2011 by in csa and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

