foodie mcfooderson

a home cook with notions & an appetite

a slight variation on cooking light’s pan-fried trout with tomato basil sauté

It seems strange to be going over a Farmer’s Market/CSA post at this late date.  Oddly, today was actually the very last day of our CSA pickup (until spring, we’ve re-upped with Wayward Seed for 2012).  The pickup today, of course, did not include heirloom cherry tomatoes or Genovese basil, as a basket from a while ago had…but it’s that time of year for time to get away from us, isn’t it?  Well, it’s that time of year for niceties as well, and I can think of nothing finer than a lovely trout.  Okay, I’m no Norman McLean, but I promise it is a lovely thing.   Before you think I’m the best trout-browner ever, I’ll fess up and admit I used Golden Trout.  You, too, can cook trout that looks that lovely when you buy the right species.  Plus, the mega-mart had it on sale.

I am getting a bit ahead of myself, aren’t I?  Back in time, I’ve gotten yet more tomatoes and basil from the CSA, and I wanted something to eat that isn’t pasta or pesto.  Did I mention I was looking for a weeknight dinner that was also nutritious?  We’re still doing our best on the seafood thing, and Cooking Light offers up Pan-Fried Trout with Tomato Basil Sauté.  Seafood: Check.  Nutritious: Check.  Ready in under 20 minutes?  Win.

Here were the ingredients I used (I basically halved the meat and kept the topping the same):

  • 1 ounces diced cured garlic sausage (it’s a Thurn’s product)
  • 1 cups cherry heirloom tomatoes
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • pepper
  • salt
  • 4 Tbs Genovese basil leaves, chopped
  • 1 1/2 tsp canola oil, divided
  • 2 golden trout fillets

As promised, this goes together very quickly.

The cured sausage was heated through on medium heat for 2-3 minutes until it just browns and then I added the garlic, tomatoes and some salt and pepper to the pan and continue to toss until the tomatoes just start to wilt and split.  This took maybe 5 minutes.  I rolled all of the cooked ingredients into a bowl and tossed them with the basil.  The basil wilted nicely while I moved onto the next step.

After salting and peppering the fillets, it’s a 2 minute fry per side over medium-high heat in my nonstick pan with the canola oil.  It really doesn’t get any easier or more foolproof than this.  Served with the topping, this was a delicious and fast weeknight meal that used two CSA ingredients in a very non-spaghetti, non-pesto kind of way.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 10, 2011 by in csa and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

