foodie mcfooderson

a home cook with notions & an appetite

open-faced duck egg, braising green and ricotta sandwiches

So we’re at the farmer’s market and the same place where we got our duck for smoking is also selling a dozen duck eggs for $6.  Duck eggs are bigger than chicken eggs and have more protein than a chicken egg.  They taste a bit richer than a chicken egg, so one does owe it to themselves to do very egg-centric dishes with your duck eggs.  I know that there’s this whole Top-Chef-y “egg slut” movement, but I’m not that far gone.  Okay, I have had a deep-fried soft-boiled egg and it is everything that they say, but it’s not like I’m egg-crazy.  I can quit anytime I want.

This open-faced egg sandwich does bear a passing resemblance to a certain lighter cooking magazine’s sandwich, but I changed a lot, so here’s my ingredient list for two sandwiches:

  • 2 2-ounce slices bakery Italian bread (halved)
  • 2 cups braising greens (these came from the CSA and were a mix that was made up heavily of baby broccoli raab)
  • 1/2 Tbs olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • 2 duck eggs
  • generous 1/2 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 2 Tbs Parmesan cheese

These were my duck eggs.  As you can see, the coloring is a little different from a conventional chicken egg (they’re not dirty!).  If you’ve never worked with a duck egg before, what you’ll probably do right off the bat is fail to crack your first egg open.  You’ll fail like I failed because you’re muscle memory will crack a duck egg with the same force you’ve always cracked a chicken egg with.  This same force that’s cracked a million eggs will fail to make a dent in a duck egg.  The shells are tougher and thicker.  You don’t need super-human strength, but you’ll want to make it known to the egg that you intend to crack it.

With my master duck-egg crack tip out of the way, onto the sandwich…

I quickly toasted the bread under the broiler.  Well, the second time, I was a bit more diligent in the whole “watch the bread so it doesn’t burn” step and got the lovely toasted slices you’ll see in a moment.  In the meantime…

In the small amount of olive oil we’re using and a nonstick pan, I fried the eggs on medium heat.  This takes a few minutes, but you can see some of the magic of the extra protein in duck eggs – the yolks stand up more than their chicken counterparts and the whites aren’t as prone to running.  Once the eggs were cooked, I transferred them to a staging area and quickly sauteed my braising greens in the same pan with a bit of salt and pepper.  I also mixed my ricotta and Parmesan cheeses together.

It was now time to assemble:

On bread, spread half the ricotta mixture.  I tasted the ricotta for salt, but with the Parmesan, there was plenty.  Top with greens.  Top greens with egg.  Top with a bit of sea salt and fresh cracked pepper.  Enjoy with knife and fork.  MMMMMMM Egg.  Delicious.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2012 by in csa, farmer's market and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

